LKY Water Prize


The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is an annual award that recognises outstanding contributions to solve Singapore’s water problems through technology, policies and programmes. The prestigious award is given out every Singapore International Water Week during July. This year (2012), the proud recipient of the award goes to Professor Mark van Loosdrecht from the Netherlands.

One of the main highlights of Prof Loosdrecht’s innovation is the energy saving and efficiency of his method. His innovation is not only brilliant, pragmatic but environmental as well. For more information of his innovation:

Relevance and importance of award

Such award highlights the government’s effort to actively recruit and recognise talents to improve our water treatment and conservation program. Most importantly, Prof Loosdrecht’s award also highlights the government’s preference for green technologies. Such green technologies will greatly aid in Singapore’s environmental cause.